top of page

Classification of NBFCS Under the RBI ACT, 1934

Updated: Jan 18, 2022

Originally, NBFCs registered with RBI were classified as: (i) Equipment Leasing Company; (ii) HirePurchase Company; (iii) Loan Company; and (iv) Investment Company. However, with effect from December 6, 2006 the above NBFCs registered or to be registered with RBI have been reclassified as: (i) Investment Company and (ii) Loan Company; and (iii) Asset Finance Company. Whilst re-classifying NBFCs, RBI has retained the categories of Loan Company and Investment Company but introduced a new category of NBFC i.e. Asset Finance Company.

Download PD • 1.18MB

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page